Wednesday, October 12, 2011

There are a load of people I know that could not give a fuck about Shakespeare and I understand where they are coming from. In this day and age, why the fuck would you put yourself through 2 or 3 hours of dialogue that you cant understand. It makes you feel stupid, it makes you feel like you don't understand your own language. I was like that going through school, and I hated it. I was dragged kicking and screaming to productions my whole life and hated every minute of it. I couldn't understand what all the fuss was about until I was about fifteen, when Shakespeare productions were starting to work for me. I could identify with them.



All of a sudden, that Baz Lurman Romeo & Juliet came out and people started paying a bit attention to Shakespeare, I started reading it for fuck sake. It was being done in a way that our generstion could relate to. It was like the lines were being said in a way that we could understand, well, for me any way. Not that it was modern, that wasn't it. It was being done in a different style. I remember seeing a production of Henry the Fourth Part 1 in the Peacock Theatre about ten years ago and feeling the same way. The actors and the directors were doing something different with it. All of a sudden, I was into this shit because it wasn't shit. I couldn't get enough of it



I have uploaded a production of the Royal Shakespeare Company's MacBeth, shot in the Roundhouse in Camden in London back in 2001, I remember seeing it for the first time with my oul'fella, he was researching the role of the porter which is particularly amazing in this production. I cant believe it's on you tube, I just had to put it up. As soon as I saw it, I just had to put it up. Check this out for a master class on how to do Shakespeare. You will love it